Rounding out the Autumn term

I didn’t know time could go by so fast. It has been an insane couple of months. There have been ups and lows, but I do feel that I have made strong progress towards the goals I have for this academic year (you can check out my goals for the academic year 2017/18 here.)

My first goal was to revise for the ELAT and apply for the University of Oxford.
I certainly feel that I have achieved this, having taken the ELAT in October I was invited for interview *gasp*, which took place only a week ago. Truly I have no idea if I have done well or done badly, it is honestly impossible to tell. However, I find out on January 10th if I have an offer from Oxford (I’ll be sure to blog about it). In case you aren’t familiar with how universities in the UK work, students apply to five universities, who may choose to give them an “offer”, which is basically a list of grades to achieve.

I also wanted to complete my EPQ (Extended Project Qualification)
In effect this is just another qualification to make my application better, students make up a title and then turn it into a project, mine was: To what extent did the war poetry of the First World War affect people’s attitudes toward conflict? I am happy to say that I finished my project and gave my presentation just last week, it will be marked next week, and hopefully I will find out my result sometime in January.

The last three goals are ongoing…

  • Finish revising all of last year’s content by January
  • Continue to expand my social media presence
  • Finish writing my novel

In terms of revision… I haven’t done much (maybe a fifth of what I had planned) and it is simply because I have been far too busy, applying to Oxford is a lot of hard work, and a lot of extra reading (mostly made up of large Victorian novels) which I don’t particularly mind, because when procrastinating over revision I mostly found myself doing extra work toward achieving my Oxford ambitions. Surely not a bad thing?

My social media presence is a bit underwhelming currently, with only three YouTube subscribers (I had five but lost two of them) mainly because I haven’t posted anything in several months, due to the same reason as above. But I promise I will be doing more now that I don’t have anything extra to do for my university applications. I’ve already started, with a new YouTube video up, which you can see here, and in writing this blog post. You can subscribe to my YouTube channel here, and you can check out my instagram page at victoriajade01.

I also want to finish writing my novel, but that is an end of the year goal, so I’m not too concerned at this point (I knew it would take a back foot during the autumn term) but with Christmas coming up, and a slightly more relaxed spring term, I’m sure to have a second or even third draft completed by Easter.

Overall, I think I’ve done fairly well, having completed 2/5 of my goals, the other three being less time conscious. Putting me in a good position going into the Christmas holidays. I still have a week and a half left of term, which is plenty of time to get going on that studying goal.


Leave a comment